Association Board of Directors

According to the open, encouraging and genuine nature of the Fulbright Finland alumni network, the Association’s board is always receptive to new ideas as well as new members to participate. We don’t want to be fixated on the past. We want to hear of you and novel ideas.

The Association operates with a 7-10 person board elected from the members and in cooperation with the Fulbright Finland Foundation in Helsinki.

ASLA-Fulbright Alumni Association Board 2020

Pictures of the Board members of the ASLA-Fulbright Alumni Assocation


Magnus Backström
Finnish Fulbright Graduate Student 1981-1982


Inari Ahokas
Program Assistant
Fulbright Finland Foundation
Study of the U.S. Institutes for Student Leaders from Europe on Social Entrepreneurship 2016-2017

Kirsi Cheas
Ph.D., International relations specialist at Días Nórdicos
Visiting postdoctoral researcher at New York University (as of fall 2020)
ASLA-Fulbright Graduate Grant 2013-2014

Sohvi Huikuri
Master of Laws Trained on the Bench, LL.M.
Process Manager, The Finnish Tax Administration

ASLA-Fulbright Graduate Grant 2017-2018

Petra Kuivala
Postdoctoral Researcher, University of Helsinki
Visiting Scholar, Harvard University (as of Fall 2020)
ASLA-Fulbright Graduate Grant 2016-2017

Antti Makkonen
Senior Specialist, Banking & Finance Legislation
Finnish Ministry of Finance, Financial Markets Department
ASLA-Fulbright Graduate Grant 2014-2015

Heikki Saxén
Bioethics Researcher, Ph.D.,
Tampere University; Chairman of the Board at the Finnish Institute of Bioethics
ASLA-Fulbright Pre-Doctoral Research Fellows 2014-2015
Fulbright Finland Travel Grant for Research Collaboration 2018-2019


ASLA-Fulbright Alumni Association Board 2019

Inari Ahokas, Magnus Backström (Vice-Chair), Kirsi Cheas (Chair), Petra Kuivala, Antti Makkonen, Meri-Katriina Pyhäranta, Heikki Saxén and Miika Vähämaa

ASLA-Fulbright Alumni Association Board 2018

Magnus Backström (Vice-Chair), Kirsi Cheas (Chair), Petra Kuivala, Harriet Lonka, Antti Makkonen, Meri-Katriina Pyhäranta, Elisa Repo, Elisa Räsänen and Heikki Saxén

ASLA-Fulbright Alumni Association Board 2017

Kirsi Cheas, Anna Kronlund (Chair), Antti Oulasvirta, Elisa Repo, Elisa Räsänen, Heikki Saxén, Arno Tanner (Vice-Chair) and Leasa Weimer

ASLA-Fulbright Alumni Association Board 2016

Piia Björn, Mikael Broas, Matti Heinonen, Anna Kronlund (Chair), Antti Makkonen, Elisa Repo, Heikki Saxén, Arno Tanner (Vice-Chair) and Leasa Weimer

ASLA-Fulbright Alumni Association Board 2015

Piia Björn, Mikael Broas, Laura Hirvi, Anna Kronlund (Chair), Jari Luomakoski (Vice-Chair), Jennifer von Reis Saari, Arno Tanner, Maria Troberg and Leasa Weimer

ASLA-Fulbright Alumni Association Board 2014

Benjamin Alldritt (Chair), Laura Hirvi (Vice-Chair), Anna Kronlund, Heidi Lehmuskumpu, Jennifer von Reis Saari, Kalle Siljander, Marianna Sydänmaanlakka, Arno Tanner, Riitta-Mari Tulamo and Leasa Weimer