Alumni of the Fulbright Finland Foundation programs

Well over 3,700 Finns, including a high number of leading figures in Finnish society, culture, and economy have participated in the program. Respectively, over 1,800 Americans have visited Finland on Fulbright Finland grants. Following are just some examples.

American Alumni

James Billington
Librarian of Congress
Library of Congress
Fulbright Scholar 1960-1961

Robert Creeley
Fulbright Bicentennial Chair in American Studies 1988-1989

John Gaddis
Pulitzer Prize for Biography, National Humanities Medal, Chaired Professor of History, Yale University
Fulbright Bicentennial Chair in American Studies 1980-1981

Daniel Libeskind
Fulbright Scholar 1984-1985

Peter MacKeith
Dean and Professor for Fay Jones School of Architecture, University of Arkansas
Honorary Consul of Finland
Knight, First Class, of the Order of the Lion of Finland
Fulbright U.S. Graduate Grant 1989-1990

Ray Marshall
Former U.S. Secretary of Labor, Professor Emeritus
Fulbright Scholar 1955-1956

Liesl Yamaguchi
University lecturer
Her translation of Väinö Linna's Finnish masterpiece Tuntematon sotilas published in 2015 by Penguin Classics.
Fulbright U.S. Graduate Grant 2006-2007

Finnish Alumni

Lauri Astala
Prizes include Kuvataiteen valtionpalkinto 2007
ASLA-Fulbright Graduate Grant 1999-2000

Maria Kaisa Aula
Former MP and Ombudsman for Children
ASLA-Fulbright Graduate Grant 1989-1990

Kaj Franck
Design artist
ASLA-Fulbright Research Grant 1955-56
(Passed away in 1989)

Bengt Holmström
The Paul A. Samuelson Professor of Economics at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, member of the Aalto University Board.
ASLA-Fulbright Graduate Grant 1974-1975

Max Jakobson
Minister and former Ambassador
Leader grant 1952-1953
(Passed away in 2013)

Ville Kivimäki
Finlandia Literary Prize for Non-Fiction 2013
ASLA-Fulbright Graduate Grant 2007-2008

Jukka Kola
Rector of the University of Helsinki
ASLA-Fulbright Graduate Grant 1989-1990

Päivi Kärkkäinen
General Director of the Finnish National Opera
ASLA-Fulbright Graduate Grant 1988-1989

Paavo Lipponen
Former Prime Minister, former Speaker of the Parliament and long-time MP. The second-longest serving Prime Minister of Finland (1995-2003). Led the Social Democratic Party for twelve years. Speaker of the Parliament of Finland from 2003 to 2007. Former director of the Finnish Institute of International Affairs (1989-1991).
IIE undergraduate grantee, Dartmouth College, 1960-1961.

Jorma K. Miettinen
Professor Emeritus
ASLA-Fulbright Research Grant 1956-1957

Pirjo Helena Mäkelä
(The First Female Scholar to Be Awarded the Honorary Title of Academician in Finland)
ASLA-Fulbright Graduate Grant 1959-1960
(Passed away in 2011)

Yrjö Neuvo
Chief Technology Officer and a member of the Group Executive Board in Nokia in 1993-2005. Formerly professor at Tampere University of Technology, National Research Professor at the Academy of Finland and a visiting professor at Santa Barbara University in California.
ASLA-Fulbright Graduate Grant 1971-1972

Risto Näätänen
Finnish psychologist and neuroscientist, permanent Academy Professors of the Academy of Finland, member of the Finnish Academy of Science and Letters, and foreign member of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences.
ASLA-Fulbright Research Grant 1965-1966

Olli Rehn
Member of Parliament in Finland, served as European Commissioner for Economic and Monetary Affairs and the Euro of the European Commission 2009-2014. Previously served as Commissioner for Enlargement.

Aino Sallinen
President Emerita of the University of Jyväskylä
ASLA-Fulbright Graduate Grant 1982-1983
ASLA-Fulbright Research Grant 1989-1990

Pertti Salolainen
Vice-Chair of Foreign Affairs Committee, Parliament of Finland, long-time MP. Finnish Ambassador to London 1996-2004 Minister (Finnish Hon. title, 2004)
Leader grant 1970-1971

Arto Salomaa
Professor Emeritus
ASLA-Fulbright Graduate Grant 1956-1957

Kimmo Sasi
Former long-time member of Parliament, held several Cabinet positions during his career.
ASLA-Fulbright Graduate Grantee in 1963-1964

Lauri Saxén
Chancellor, University of Helsinki 1993-1996
ASLA-Fulbright Research Grant 1958-1959

Leif Segerstam
Composer. Conductor.
Chief Conductor Emeritus, Helsinki Philharmonic Orchestra.
ASLA-Fulbright Graduate Grant 1963-1964

Maija Tanninen-Mattila
Museum Director of the Helsinki City Museum
ASLA-Fulbright Graduate Grant 1993-1994

Tapani Vaahtoranta
Former Programme Director at the Finnish Institute of International Affairs, former Editor-in-Chief of the Finnish Journal of Foreign Affairs.
ASLA-Fulbright Graduate Grant 1983-1984
Fulbright Mid-Center Professional Development Grant 2008-2009

Jussi Valtonen
Author and Finlandia Literature Prize 2014
ASLA-Fulbright Graduate Grant 2002-2003

Vesa Vihriälä
Managing Director of the Research Institute of the Finnish Economy (ETLA)
ASLA-Fulbright Graduate Grant 1982-1983

Keijo Virtanen
President Emeritus of the University of Turku
ASLA-Fulbright Research Grant 1988-1989

Risto Volanen
Former State Secretary at the Prime Minister's Office, a Permanent Advisor to the Research and Innovation Council.
ASLA-Fulbright Graduate Grant 1975-1976

Raimo Väyrynen
Chair of the Board of the University of Lapland, Former Director of the Finnish Institute of International Affairs, Former President of the Academy of Finland.
ASLA-Fulbright Research Grant 1982-1983