23 February 2021

Fulbright Finland Foundation Elects New Chair and Vice-Chair 

Headshots of David Yoken, the new Chair, and Dr. Timo Korkeamäki, the new Vice-Chair of the Fulbright Finland Foundation Board of Directors

The Fulbright Finland Foundation is pleased to announce that David Yoken and Dr. Timo Korkeamäki have assumed new leadership roles within the Board of Directors of the Fulbright Finland Foundation. Yoken has been elected Chair, having previously served as Vice-Chair of the Board. In this role he succeeds Dr. Piia Björn who concluded her two-year term as the Board Chair and now continues as a member of the Board. Korkeamäki was elected Vice-Chair of the Board. 

David Yoken is a Senior Lecturer at the Arts Academy of the Turku University of Applied Sciences. He develops projects related to artistic practice, community based arts activities, and the STEAM approach to environmental education. He has lectured on the performing arts and cross-interdisciplinary arts education at leading universities all over the world. In the spring of 1991, David Yoken was a Fulbright Senior Specialist, at the former Soviet State Theatre Academy in Moscow, U.S.S.R. He has been a member of the Fulbright Finland Foundation Board since 2014.

Timo Korkeamäki is the Dean of Aalto University School of Business. He received his PhD in International Finance from University of South Carolina in 2001. Prior to joining Aalto University, he has taught at Hanken School of Economics in Helsinki, and at Gonzaga University in Spokane, WA. He has been a member of the Fulbright Finland Foundation Board since 2018.

The Foundation warmly welcomes the new Chair and Vice-Chair, and conveys its gratitude to Dr. Piia Björn for her commitment and significant contribution during her term as the Chair.

The Fulbright Finland Foundation is an independent not-for-profit organization registered under Finnish foundation law. It is governed by an eight-member Board of Directors.