Alumni Open Mic 3

Online
Promo image for Alumni Open Mic. There is a photo of two birch tree vihta on a wooden dock, lake can be seen in the background. Over the photo is blue color, with photo of the event speaker Sarah Flynn, the title of the presentation "Sauna in My Backyard: From Finland to Colorado" and information about the Alumni Open Mic.

This event is by invitation only.

Tuesday, June 15, 2021 at 5:00 pm Finland / 10:00 am ET / 9:00 am CT / 8:00 am MT / 7:00 am PT 

As we prepare for the upcoming mid-summer and sauna season, we want to invite you to share your favorite sauna memories.

During this informal and casual alumni get-together, we will hear from Sarah Flynn, 2017-18 Fulbright Distinguished Award in Teaching grantee, who with her husband built a wood burning sauna in their backyard. Sarah is in the process of launching a small sauna spa business. Join us to hear more about Sarah's dream of bringing the authentic Finnish sauna to the Denver Metro area!

After the presentation, you will have an opportunity to share your memories, stories, and experiences about the Finnish sauna. Feel free to tell about your first encounter with a smoke sauna, show photos of your favorite sauna, or share tips on where to enjoy the best löyly - in Finland or in the U.S.!

Registration is required, and space is limited!

Program

(All times in ET)

9:55 Zoom Call Open

10:00-10:10 Welcome and Greetings from the Fulbright Finland Foundation

10:10-10:25 Presentation: Sauna in My Backyard: From Finland to Colorado

  • Sarah Flynn, Distinguished Awards in Teaching Grantee 2017-18, University of Jyväskylä

10:25-10:45 Discussion

10:45-11:00 Alumni Open Mic - an Opportunity for You to Take the Floor

11:00-11:10 Brainstorming Activity: Share Your Ideas for the Next Alumni Open Mic Presentation Theme

11:10-11:15 Wrap-up

11:15 Event Ends

Join our events
What When Where
Arrival Orientation for U.S. Fulbright Finland Grantees 23 - 25 August Online
See all events