Alumni Open Mic with Peter Matthews

Fulbright Finland Foundation Office & Online
Decorative image, an invitation to Alumni Open Mic event with Guest Speaker Peter Matthew's photo and name, the title of the presentation (The Moral Decisions of Political Partisans: An Experimental Perspective).

This event is by invitation only.

9:30 am ET / 8:30 am CT / 7:30 am MT / 6:30 am PT / 4:30 pm Finland 

Time for another alumni open mic, this time in hybrid format! Join us in Helsinki or online, as we bring together the Fulbright Finland alumni community, from both the U.S. and Finland, for an inspiring event. Engage with an alumni expert speaker and then share your own news, greetings, and thoughts during the open mic.

The guest speaker is Peter Matthews, 2023-24 Fulbright-Aalto University Distinguished Chair and 2017-18 Fulbright-Hanken Distinguished Chair in Business and Economics. 

Peter Matthews is a behavioral economist who often uses experimental methods to explore various questions in the fields of political economy and, more recently, climate change. In this brief talk, he'll share the results of a simple recent experiment that explores the motives of political partisans when faced with a moral choice. centers throughout Finland.

We Want to Hear from You!

During the alumni open mic you will also have an opportunity to unmute yourself and let the Fulbright Finland community know what you have been up to. Share your latest news, look for new connections, or just say "hi" to everyone. The virtual floor is yours.

Registration is required!

Program

(Finnish time, EEST)

16:00 Coffee and Networking at the Foundation Office
Hakaniemenranta 6, Helsinki

16:25 Call Opens for Online Participants

16:30 Welcome and Greetings from the Fulbright Finland Foundation

16:40-17:10 Presentation: The Moral Decisions of Political Partisans: An Experimental Perspective

  • Peter Matthews, Charles A. Dana Professor of Economics, Middlebury College; 2023-24 Fulbright-Aalto University Distinguished Chair and 2017-18 Fulbright-Hanken Distinguished Chair in Business and Economics

17:10-17:25 Discussion and Questions

17:25-17:45 Alumni Open Mic 

17:15 Event ends

Join our events
What When Where
Study in the U.S. Info Session with Guest Speakers from U.S. Universities 18 April Helsinki & Online
Alumni Open Mic with Peter Matthews 7 May Fulbright Finland Foundation Office & Online
Fulbright Finland Foundation 75th Anniversary Celebration 24 May Mystic, CT
See all events