24 April 2018

Two Finnish Scholars Selected For Second Fulbright Arctic Initiative

Sixteen outstanding scholars from the Arctic Council member countries have been selected for the second cohort of Fulbright Arctic Initiative to collaborate on multi-disciplinary research to advance Arctic nations’ shared interest in building resilient communities and sustainable economies.

The Fulbright Arctic Scholars will explore topics such as renewable energy, fisheries management, health and wellness, and telecommunications infrastructure in the Arctic over the 18 months program.

The scholar participants were selected from the eight member countries of the Arctic Council and they include two scholars from Finland: Soili Nysten-Haarala from the University of Lapland and Daria Gritsenko from the University of Helsinki. Elizabeth Rink from Montana State University, in turn, will be visiting Finland through the program. See the scholars’ full biographies here.

Fulbright Arctic Scholars engage with governments, NGOs, businesses, and Arctic communities through individual research exchange visits, online collaborations, and through a series of group seminars in Canada, Finland and the United States. The Fulbright Finland Foundation will organize the Mid-term Plenary Week for the Arctic scholars in Finland in February 2019.

The initiative is sponsored by the U.S. State Department’s Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs and it supports interdisciplinary research for scholars from Arctic Council member countries. The Arctic Council is an intergovernmental forum that includes Canada, Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway, Russia, Sweden, and the United States. Finland has the chairmanship of the Council in 2017-2019.

More information:
Emmi Jelekäinen, Program Coordinator, Fulbright Finland Foundation, emmi.jelekainen(a)fulbright.fi

Terhi Mölsä, CEO, Fulbright Finland Foundation, tel. +358-50-570 5498